Understanding Windows Recycle Bin



Recycle Bin



People know that anything named bin is something you put trash in. Well, the recycle bin in windows is basically what you put your digital trash in. Once you delete any file from your computer, it will automatically go to the recycle bin as long as the bin is not configured to do otherwise. The recycle bin in windows comes with basic configuration properties which allows you to set what happens when you delete a file, and the maximum file size which can be sent to the recycle bin. Here are some recycle bun tips which will help you to configure your bin.

How To Delete Files Without Sending Them To The Recycle Bin

  1. Right Click the Recycle Bin - Select Properties
  2. Select - Don't move files to the recycle bin. Remove files immediately when deleted.
  3. Click OK
Delete Files Without Sending To The Recycle Bin

How To Change The Maximum File Size Which Can Be Sent To The Recycle Bin

  1. Right Click the Recycle Bin and Select Properties
  2. Click Custom Size - Enter the new Bin size in the text box
  3. Click OK

Increase Recycle Bin Size
Change Recycle Bin Size

This option is useful if you want to delete very large files which prompts you that the file is too big to send to the recycle bin. Just increase the recycle bin file to a size more than the size of large files which you plant to delete.


How To Delete All Files From The Recycle Bin

If you have not set up the option to delete files without sending them to the recycle bin, every file you delete will end up in the bin. To delete these files:

  1. Right Click the Recycle Bin 
  2. Select Empty Bin (This will delete all files in the Recycle Bin)

How To Delete a Single File From The Recycle Bin.

  1. Double Click To Open The Recycle Bin
  2. Right Click The file you want to delete and select
Delete Single File From The Recycle Bin
Delete Single File From The Recycle Bin

Restore Item From The Recycle Bin.

  1. Double click on the Recycle Bin Icon to open
  2. Right Click The File you wish to recover and select Restore
  3. File will be restore to last location it was deleted from

Restore Single File From Recycle Bin
Restore Item From Recycle Bin



Comments